Summer ’16.

At the beginning of the year I made a promise to myself to ensure I learnt lessons which’ll help me grow as a young woman. I didn’t know how I was going to make this happen but I made sure it happened as the year went by. As soon as opportunities rose, I’d usually say no to anything which was different or slightly out of my comfort zone but I thought hey why the hell not?

Through the months I learnt more and more about myself in ways I couldn’t have imagined. From concerts, clubbing and carnival I’m glad to say I did it all.

Summer was definitely an eyeopener, the freedom and sun fun was all that I needed to show me there is life beyond 20.

These are the four major lessons I learnt:

– If you don’t know your worth you’ll always be taken advantage of. There have been times when I’ve nearly lost myself because I thought I was alone. Could I have been more wrong, I realised I am surrounded by people who constantly remind me not to settle for less.

Take each day as a lesson and enjoy while you can but don’t put yourself down over little things, even drunk texts or your wig falling off in the middle of the club.

– It’s all fun and games until you wake up with a hangover. Like everything, learn to have fun in moderation. Vodka, wine and any type of whiskey shouldn’t be mixed together. Just don’t.

– There’s nothing wrong with letting loose, have a night where you just lose yourself and simply have fun. As we grow we find some behaviours are “inappropriate” or aren’t seen as “classy.” What’s the point if you can’t have a little fun once in a while?

– In everything you have to be grateful to have friends and family who aren’t afraid to tell you when you’re messing up. If you don’t have people around you who’re able to stop you from making a drunken mistake or even having misshaped eyebrows, you need to reevaluate your life.

As you may have guessed I did spend the majority of my summer drinking, until next time Summer. I’m more than ready for winter now. Goodbye for now.

3 thoughts on “Summer ’16.

  1. thephotoguidebook says:

    Such an inspiring and eye opening read! It was brave of you to admit that you lost yourself at some point, but then you found yourself again. Your summer sounded fun, yet I’m glad that you learned from it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

